CFE Tax Advisers Europe Elects New President & Executive Board

The General Assembly of CFE Tax Advisers Europe, CFE’s governing body, elected new President and Executive Board Members at its meeting held in Seville, Spain on 23 September. The new Executive Board will take up their duties on 1 January 2023, with a mandate extending until the end of 2024.

CFE Member organisations unanimously elected Ian E. Hayes as President (Council Member, Chartered Institute of Taxation (CIOT) & Tax Faculty, Institute of Chartered Accountants of England and Wales (ICAEW), United Kingdom. Martin Phelan was re-elected as Secretary-General (Partner, Head of Tax, Simmons & Simmons Ireland), as was Branislav Kováč in the position of Treasurer (Partner, VGD Slovakia, Board Member of the Slovak Chamber of Tax Advisers, Slovakia).

Stella Raventós Calvo, President of the Spanish Association of Tax Advisors (AEDAF) and Partner in the tax department of Addwill, Spain and Anna Misiak (Partner MDDP, Member of the Chamber of Tax Advisers, Poland) were re-appointed as Vice-Presidents of CFE Tax Advisers Europe. As a new Vice-President, the General Assembly elected Trudy Perié (Counsel, Loyens & Loeff, Member of the Dutch Order of Tax Advisers (NOB), The Netherlands). 

The General Assembly appointed three board members who will serve as Technical Committee Chairs: Piergiorgio Valente as Chair of the Tax Technology Committee (Managing Partner Crowe Valente/ GEB Partners, and Chairman of the Global Tax Advisers Platform – GTAP), Bruno Gouthière as Chair of the Fiscal Committee (Partner CMS Francis Lefebvre and Member of Institut des Avocats Conseils Fiscaux, France), and Philippe Vanclooster as Chair of the Professional Affairs Committee (PwC Belgium, Member of the Institute for Tax Advisers and Accountants (ITAA), Belgium. 

Additionally, the General Assembly appointed Matěj Nešleha (Board Member of the Czech Chamber of Tax Advisers, Czech Republic) as Executive Board member.

The Executive Board is responsible for implementing the policy and strategy of CFE Tax Advisers Europe as set out by the General Assembly. Work is managed through our four committees: the Fiscal Committee, the Professional Affairs Committee, the Tax Technology Committee and the New Tax Professionals Ad Hoc Committee. Each committee is chaired by a member of the Board, working in close conjunction with the policy/ technical team in Brussels. Delegates from each committee also form various working groups and subcommittees focussed on specific or time-sensitive issues that necessitate specialist input.

On behalf of the General Assembly, the CFE Brussels Office warmly congratulates the newly appointed President and Executive Board members on their election.